A doctor and medical college professor from Belgaum in Karnataka has created history by performing a dissection on his own father's body for medical students of his college. The doctor, Mahesh Ramannawar, performed the dissection as his father had wished him to do so in his will.

"I am a professor to anatomy and I have only fulfilled my father's wishes by doing this, I am happy that the students have learned something out of this," says Dr Mahesh Ramannawar.
Like it on Facebook, Tweet it or share this topic on other bookmarking websites.
I just find it appalling and to expect a son to perform such an act is very cruel!!
chinmoymukherjee wrote:
[quote]I just find it appalling and to expect a son to perform such an act is very cruel!![/quote]

At time of dissection, he was simply anatomy professor teaching his students. I commend him. This is no cruelty. In fact, I also contemplate to donate my body to a medical college subsequent to my death. The dissectors may be any doctors- may be even my close relatives.

G. K. Ajmani Tax consultant
http://gkajmani-mystraythoughts.blogspot.com/

I too feel that their is no cruelty in this matter.Being a professor he had used his father's body to explain to his students. :)
I wonder if it was at all necessary to dissect one's father's body to explain anatomy better!
[quote]I wonder if it was at all necessary to dissect one's father's body to explain anatomy better![/quote]

Your concern is right Chnimoy, it is indeed a sensitive issue and it takes a lot of guts to dissect your own father's body! I personally commend the doctor for his courage! In spite of a huge population, due to various religious sentiments and beliefs attached to a death, there is always a scarcity of dead bodies for studying anatomy in most medical colleges! Therefore, by taking this step, he has only shown an exemplary conduct that would encourage more people to come forward and donate their bodies for a good cause!